I Don’t Have a Grill, What do I Bring to that Labor Day Pot Luck? … Watermelon Feta Cups.

I just moved to a new place. Unfortunately, the grill where I used to live belonged to my brother. So until the Labor Day grill sales kick in, I am a chef without a grill.

But that doesn’t mean I get to opt out of cooking for the Labor Day potluck. I needed to figure out what will be appropriate summer fare that I can make without my grill. Of course, if I can’t grill, I wanted make a dish that would help everybody cool down. Which, of course, led me to watermelon. There is nothing quite so refreshing as water you can chew.

But, you know me, I didn’t want to just bring watermelon wedges. (Which are great all on their own.) I had to put a spin on it. Which reminded me of a treat I’ve made on hot film sets: Watermelon Feta Cups.

I got the idea while chatting with an Armenian friend over bites of watermelon. I told her that I enjoyed a little salt on my melon to bring out the sweetness and she told me, “you know what Armenians do? They eat it with feta.”

And, voila, the next day I was chopping a watermelon into squares, topping them with a little lemon juice, salt & pepper and, finally a clump of crumbled feta.

These little, easy to make, and affordable treats might get you a strange look at first, but once you get someone to eat one, I promise they will be gone in seconds.

Watermelon Feta Cups

You can also make a watermelon feta salad by using a melon-baller to scoop out the watermelon and tossing the above ingredients with mint. Or, if you can buy feta by the block, you can cut it into cubes the same size as the watermelon and serve them as skewers.

1 watermelon

16 oz crumbled feta cheese

1 Tbsp lemon juice

salt & pepper to taste

  1. Cut the sides of the watermelon to create a large cube of melon. The cut through each side of cube to produce a grid and then finish by cutting perpendicularly to the grid to create evenly sized watermelon cubes.
  2. Using a spoon or small melon-baller, remove a tiny bit of watermelon in the top of each cube, creating the ‘cup.’
  3. Fill each ‘cup’ with crumbled feta. Salt and pepper the cups and drizzle with lemon juice. Serve to guests as fingerfood. They can eat the entire cup in one bite.
Leave a Reply

